Free Online Legal Resources
The blood alcohol limit in Wisconsin is a 0.08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC,) unless you are under the age of 21. If you are under the age of 21 and you have any measurable amount of alcohol in your system then you are legally intoxicated. Finally, the legal limit for commercial drivers is a BAC of 0.04 or above.
Wisconsin OWI Penalties:
4th Offense (none within the last 5 years):
4th Offense (1 or more previous within the past 5 years):
Additionally, the harshness of the penalties imposed in Wisconsin will increase with each subsequent OWI.
Under current law, any person who drives or operates a motor vehicle upon the public highways
of this state is deemed to have given consent to one or more tests of his or her breath, blood, or urine, for the purpose of determining the presence or quantity in his or her blood or breath of alcohol, controlled substances, controlled substance analogs or other drugs or any combination of alcohol, controlled substances, controlled substance analogs, and other drugs, when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer or when required to do so.
The law specifies that:
(1) any such tests must be administered upon the request of a law enforcement officer; and
(2) the law enforcement agency by which the officer is employed must be prepared to administer, either at its agency or any other agency or facility, two of the three tests (breath, blood, or urine) and he or she may designate which of the tests shall be administered first.
If you decide to refuse one of these tests your driver’s license will be suspended.
If you are under the age of 21 and are found with any measurable amount of alcohol in your system you will face a $200 fine, a minimum 3 month license suspension, and 4 demerit points on your driving record.
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified drunk driving lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local drunk driving attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.