Free Online Legal Resources
The blood alcohol limit in Missouri is a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or above, unless you are under the age of 21. If you are under the age of 21 and your BAC is 0.02 or higher then you are legally intoxicated. Additionally, the limit for commercial drivers is 0.04 or above. If your BAC exceeds the legal limit you will be charged with DWI.
The possible penalties for a DWI conviction in Missouri include:
Additionally, if you injure or kill someone because you were drinking or using drugs
while driving, you may:
An Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is a mechanical unit that is connected to the vehicle’s ignition, horn, and headlights and measures the concentration of alcohol in a person’s breath. The IID requires vehicle operators to provide a breath sample before starting the vehicle and periodically during the operation of the vehicle.
If you have more than one alcohol-related contact showing on your driving record, you must have an IID installed on any vehicle you operate before your driving privilege can be reinstated. The IID must be installed for a minimum of six months from your reinstatement date. Additionally, you must pay for having the device installed and for having it serviced every month.
If you fail to maintain the IID during the six-month period, your driving privilege will be re-suspended. You will be required to have the device serviced/installed, send proof to the driver license bureau, and pay a $20 reinstatement fee before having your driving privilege reinstated.
Not necessarily. If your BAC level is .08% or more (or for minors .02% or more), the officer will take your license away and give you a notice. This notice tells you that your license will be suspended or revoked (and you will not be able to legally drive) after 15 days.
The notice includes a 15-day driving permit that you can use if the officer indicates this on the notice. The notice also includes a form that allows you to request a hearing. If you are given a hearing, you may continue to legally drive until 15 days after a decision is mailed to you.
If you need to drive to work or as part of your job, to school or to medical care, you may be eligible for a hardship driver's license. An attorney can help you to determine if this is an option in your case.
A license suspension or revocation lasts for a fixed period of time. At the end of that period, your license does not automatically come back to you. It's up to you to apply for reinstatement.
• Paying a $45 fee;
• Submitting a form showing you completed a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) or comparable program;
• Provide proof of insurance for two years (SR-22 filing);and
• Have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on any vehicle you operate for at least six months from date of reinstatement.
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified drunk driving lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local drunk driving attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.