Resource Library

Free Online Legal Resources

What are the Residency and Filing Requirements for Divorce in Vermont?

Vermont divorce complaints should be filed in superior court. (Vermont Statutes Title 15 Domestic Relations Chapter 11 Annulment and Divorce Section 591)  A divorce complaint may be brought if either party has resided in Vermont for 6 months or more and a divorce decree may be entered if either party has resided in Vermont for 1 year or more. (Vermont Statutes Title 15 Domestic Relations Chapter 11 Annulment and Divorce Section 592) 

Speak to an Experienced Divorce Attorney Today

This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified divorce lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local divorce attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.

Additional Divorce Articles

Search LawInfo's Divorce Resources

Find an Attorney in Your Area

Related Divorce Issues