Resource Library

Free Online Legal Resources

When Will My Benefits Begin And How Much Will They Be?

Iowa laws require that disability benefits begin on the 11th day and are retroactive if you are disabled more than 14 days. In some cases if the benefits are not paid when due, are denied or have an unreasonable delay then the injured worker may be entitled to interest or penalty benefits. Disability benefits are not to exceed 80% of the employee`s gross weekly earnings. This amount is determined by taking into account your gross weekly earnings, number of exemptions and your marital status. The maximum weekly amount for Permanent Partial Disability is $948.00. For Total Temporary Disability, Healing Period, Permanent Total Disability and death benefits the maximum weekly rate is $1031.00.

Speak to an Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorney Today

This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified workers' compensation lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local workers' compensation attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.

Additional Workers' Compensation Articles

Search LawInfo's Workers' Compensation Resources

Find an Attorney in Your Area

Featured Iowa Workers' Compensation Law Firm

Attorney Christopher Coppola

Serving Local and National Clients with Workers' Compensation Matters for More Than Four Decades

Captcha Image

Workers' Compensation Lawyers

Related Workers' Compensation Issues