Connecticut Wage Laws
Many employees aren't aware of the federal and state laws that govern wage and hour laws. They may have seen a poster at work about what is required, but it's likely that many don't read it. However, it is important to know what is required in an employer-employee relationship.
Most employers are required to abide by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act as well as the minimum wage laws in Connecticut. The minimum wage laws are covered in the Connecticut General Statutes, Title 31 Chapter 558 Part I and II.
Connecticut's Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Connecticut as of Jan. 1, 2015, is $9.15. That is a $0.45 an hour raise from the previous year. Connecticut was the first state to pass an increase in minimum wage over $10 an hour. In 2016, the minimum wage will go to $9.60 an hour and in 2017, it will go up to $10.10.
Connecticut's Overtime Pay
Employees are entitled to one and a half times their regular rate of pay for time worked over 40 hours a week. There is no requirement that an employer must pay overtime on a daily basis, holidays or weekends unless there is an agreement between the employer and employee.
There are several specific exemptions concerning overtime pay. These exemptions include:
- Administrative, executive and professional employees, which are defined by the Labor Commissioner
- Agricultural employees
- Automobile salesmen
- Any helper or driver that has had qualifications and minimum hours of service established by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation
- Any outside salesperson that is defined by the Fair Labor Standards Act
Some of these exemptions may not be as clearly defined as you might think. It is best to speak with an attorney experienced in Connecticut wage and hour laws if you feel that you may be entitled to overtime page.
What Are the Recordkeeping Requirements?
Employers must keep employment records for the past three years for each employee. Included in these records must be information on the employee's occupation, hours worked each day and week that are used to compute pay, overtime pay amounts, deductions and additions to pay and the total amount paid to the employee from each pay period. The records must be kept where the employee works, although an exemption may be granted if the employer files a request with the Wage and Workplace Standards Division.
Requirements for the Payment of Wages
There are specific requirements for employers regarding when employees are paid. These include:
- Employees must be paid weekly unless the Labor Commissioner has approved the company to pay less frequently.
- If an employee is laid off or quits, all pay is due on the pay day. If an employee is fired, then all wages are due to the employee on the business day.
- There are more regulations to cover specific industries, such as restaurants, retail stores and beauty shops.
Additional Regulations Covering Connecticut Employers and Employees
Connecticut has many other regulations regarding wage and hour laws, with many that are specific to a particular industry. There are also standards in place for classification of employees as exempt and nonexempt, for the employment of minors and for prevailing wages.
You can learn more about the regulations and standards that apply to you by speaking with an employment attorney. He or she can work to protect your rights in the workplace.
Speak to an Experienced Wage and Hour Attorney Today
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified wage and hour lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local wage and hour attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.
Additional Wage and Hour Articles
- What are the rules on final paychecks in Connecticut?
- When is the final paycheck due when an employee is fired under Connecticut law?
- When is the final paycheck due when an employee quits under Connecticut law?
- Under what circumstances can a final paycheck be withheld under Connecticut law?
- What deductions may an employer make from an employee's final paycheck under Connecticut law?
- What recourse does an employee have under Connecticut law if he or she is unable to obtain his or her final paycheck from a former employer?