How Many Days Does A Landlord In New Jersey Have To Return A Renter's Security Deposit?

Section 46:8-21.1 of the New Jersey Statutes Annotated provides that a landlord must give a tenant written notice within 30 days of the tenant vacating the property if the landlord is withholding any portion of the security deposit. If the tenants were evacuated due to fire, flood or a similar emergency the deposit must be returned within 5 days.

The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.

Search LawInfo's Rent and Security Deposits Resources