What Is The Law On Final Paychecks For Termination?
Whenever an employer separates an employee from the employer's payroll the unpaid wages of the employee become due immediately, and the employer shall pay the wages to the employee within 24 hours of the time of separation at the specified place of payment. In case of failure to pay wages due an employee within 24 hours of written demand, the wages of the employee shall continue from the date of demand until paid, but in no event to exceed 60 days, at the same rate that the employee received at the time of separation. The employee may recover the penalty thus accruing to the employee in a civil action. This action must be commenced within 60 days from the date of separation. An employee who has not made a written demand for payment is not entitled to any penalty.
Additional Labor & Employment Law Articles
- What Is Employment Discrimination?
- What Is The Rule On Final Paychecks For A Resignation?
- What Is The Rule On Final Paychecks For An Industrial Dispute?
- What is the minimum wage in Utah?
- What Are The Exemptions From The Utah Minimum Wage Act?
- What Is The Minimum Wage For Tipped Employees?
- Are There Exceptions To "at Will" Employment?
Search LawInfo's Labor & Employment Law Resources