Yes, Nevada allows for several optional coverages to cover your collateral losses in the event of a claim being filed. They are as follows:
1. Medical payments coverage is an optional coverage. However, Nevada law requires that
your insurance company offers you at least $1,000 of this coverage. This coverage pays for the
medical and funeral expenses for you or others injured or killed in an accident while riding or
driving in your auto. Claims against this coverage include all reasonable hospital, surgical,
chiropractor, xray, dental, professional nursing, prosthetic and funeral expenses. It will also
cover you or members of your family if an auto strikes you while walking or riding in
another auto. This coverage will also pay for your medical and funeral expenses even if you
cause the accident. Usually, only expenses incurred within a specified period of time after the
accident are included.
2. Rental reimbursement coverage usually pays $15 to $20 a day to rent a car for a specific
number of days while your vehicle is being repaired. The premium will vary from insurer to
3. Towing and labor coverage pays the cost of towing your car to the repair shop subject to
the limit of your policy. Premium for this coverage can run as low as $5 to $10 per year.
However, if you are a member of an auto club, you probably already have this service and may
not want to duplicate your coverage.
Speak to an Experienced Insurance Attorney Today
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified insurance lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local insurance attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.