What Are The Kentucky Continuing Education Requirements?

Courses approved in other states will be approved in Kentucky according to the provisions of the reciprocal agreement, as long as the course content is acceptable under Kentucky regulations. Resident agents are responsible for supplying the Kentucky Department of Insurance with a copy of other states' approval from the provider. The Department would encourage agents to obtain a copy of this approval before attending the course to assure that Kentucky can give credit for the course.

The following licensees are subject to continuing education

  • Agents with the following lines of authority:
  • Casualty
  • Health
  • Life
  • Marine & Transportation
  • Mortgage Guaranty
  • Property
  • Variable Life & Variable Annuity
  • Surety
  • Nonprofit Health Service Corporation
  • Rental Vehicle Managing Employees
  • Viatical Brokers

Agents subject to continuing education must complete 24 hours of continuing education each biennium. Of those 24 hours, 6 hours must be related to one or more of the lines of authority for which the agent is licensed. In addition, 2 hours must be related to ethics.

An agent cannot receive credit for the same course more than once during a biennium.

The following licensees are not subject to Continuing Education:
Agents with limited lines of authority:

  • Credit
  • Common Carrier
  • Crop Hail
  • Mechanical Breakdown
  • Motor Vehicle Physical Damage
  • Specialty Credit Managing Employee

The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.

Additional Insurance Articles

Search LawInfo's Insurance Resources

Lead Counsel Rated Law Firm

Click Here to Learn More