What Is The Personal Lines Broker-Agent License?
- automobile insurance (including recreational vehicles used for noncommercial purposes),
- personal watercraft insurance,
- residential property insurance (including earthquake and flood insurance),
- inland marine insurance covering personal property, and
- umbrella or excess liability insurance.
To become a personal lines brokeragent, the applicant will be required to complete a 20hour prelicensing classroom course approved by the CDI and an approved 12hour prelicensing classroom course on the California Insurance Code and ethics. The applicant will also be required to pass a written examination, unless the applicant qualifies for a Personal Lines BrokerAgent exemption. Anyone who meets the requirements to be exempt from the examination will still be required to complete the 20hour prelicensing course and the12hour prelicensing code and ethics course.
Click here to access a checklist for application filing requirements.
Personal lines brokeragent continuing education will be required on a calendar year basis. The agent will be required to complete 10 hours of continuing education each calendar year. The personal lines license will be issued for a twoyear fixed term that begins on January 1 of the first year and ends on December 31 of the second year.
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Insurance Articles
- Where Can I Obtain Insurance Licensing Forms And Licensing Requirements?
- Is Any Pre-Licensing Education Required?
- Are There Any Pre-Licensing Examinations That I Must First Take?
- How Do I Know How Many Continuing Education Hours I Will Need To Renew My License?
- After I Complete My Continuing Education Hours, Do I Need To Send The Certificates To The California Department Of Insurance?
- Where Can I Find Pre-Licensing Or Continuing Education Providers And Course Offerings?
- How Will I Know When It's Time To Renew My License?
- Who Is Eligible To Use The Rapid (Renew Online) System?
- What Do I Do If I Am A Non-Resident Licensee?
- Will I Still Be Able To Continue Transacting Business If My License Expires And I Haven't Received The Renewed License?
- What If My Renewal Is Late?
- How Do I Add Another License Type To My Current Insurance License?
- How Do I Inform The Department Of Insurance Of My Address Change?
- I'm Moving To Another State. What Do I Need From The California Department Of Insurance?
- How Do I Inform The California Department Of Insurance That I Represent A New Insurance Company Or That I No Longer Represent An
- How Do I Obtain A Duplicate License?
- What If I Want To Be Licensed As A Nonresident In Another State?
- Is A Bond Required In Order To Become Licensed?
- What Are The Fees For Fingerprinting?
- How Long Will It Take To Process My Application?