Can I Keep My Home If I File Bankruptcy in Tennessee?

An individual Tennessee homeowner is entitled to a $5,000 homestead exemption if the homeowner files for bankruptcy. If two or more homeowners own the property jointly then the exemption amount goes up to $7,500. 
That means that if the homeowner(s) own less equity in the home than the amount of the homestead exemption and the homeowner is able to keep making regular monthly mortgage payments then the homeowner is likely to keep his or her home in a bankruptcy proceeding.
However, if the homeowner owns more than $5,000 ($7,500 if held jointly) in equity in the property the bankruptcy court may order the property sold to satisfy the debts of unsecured creditors.

The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.

Additional Foreclosure and Alternatives Articles

Search LawInfo's Foreclosure and Alternatives Resources