What are the Residency and Filing Requirements for Divorce in Hawaii?
Petitions for divorce in Hawaii should be filed in Family Court in the circuit where the applicant lives. (Hawaii Statutes Chapter 580 Sections 1 and 41) In order to obtain a divorce in Hawaii, the applicant must have been domiciled and physically present in the state for at least 3 months prior to filing for divorce and for 6 months before a divorce decree is issued. (Hawaii Statutes Chapter 580 Section 1)
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Family Law Articles
- In Hawaii, Can a Spouse Give Up His or Her Right to Alimony in a Premarital Agreement?
- What Steps are Necessary to Enter a Valid Premarital Agreement in Hawaii?