What is the current minimum wage in New York State?
For covered employees, the New York State Minimum Wage rate is $7.15 per hour. This amount may be modified based upon a number of factors. For example, food service workers who earn at least $1.85 per hour in tips may be paid at a minimum wage rate of $5.30 per hour. Different rates exist for other types of service employees, specified within a set of regulations called a "Wage Order", which addresses the unique aspects of each industry or occupation.
For uptodate minimum wage information and links to the "Wage Order" rates and allowances relevant to your industry, go to:
Exceptions to the minimum wage requirements are:
- Executives and administrators earning more than $386.25 per week
- Outside salespersons
- Taxicab drivers
- Government employees (However, certain nonteaching employees of BOCES are covered)
- Parttime babysitters
- Companions to the sick or elderly who live in their employer's home and whose principal duties do not include housework
- Ministers and members of religious orders
- Volunteers, learners, apprentices and students working in nonprofit institutions
- Students obtaining vocational experience
Independent Contractors people who are in business for themselves are not considered "employees" and are not covered by the minimum wage requirements. These are the major exclusions. For a more complete listing, go to:
Get Help from an Experienced Employment Law Attorney
Have you been discriminated against by a potential or current employer -- as a job applicant or current employee? To best protect your legal rights you should discuss your situation with an employment lawyer. Meet with a local employment for employees attorney sooner rather than later to protect your rights.
Additional Employment Law for Employees Articles
- New York Employment Law
- What Is The Law Regarding Overtime?
- Must My Employer Provide For Rest And/Or Meal Periods?
- Must An Employer Pay Employees For Holidays, Sick Time And/Or Vacations?
- Can An Employee Be Fired Without Due Cause?
- When Is The Last Check Due To A Terminated Employee?
- How Can Employees Obtain Assistance In Collecting Wages Owed To Them By Their Employer?
- How Do I Apply For Unemployment Insurance?
- How Do I Qualify For Unemployment Benefits?
- How Is My Weekly Benefit Rate Determined?
- How Do I Claim My Weekly Benefits?
- Are Unemployment Insurance Benefits Taxable?
- What Is The Minimum Age For Employment?
- Is An Employment Certificate Required?
- Are Certain Occupations Prohibited For Minors?
- What Are The Restrictions On The Hours A Minor Can Work?
- If An Employer Complies With The State Law Does That Guarantee Compliance With The Federal Law Or If The Employer Complies With Federal Law Does That Guarantee Compliance With State Law?
- When Is An Employer Liable For Unemployment Taxes?
- How Does An Employer Register As An Employer?
- What Is Required Once An Employer Is Determined Liable?
- What Are The Unemployment Tax Rates?
- Do I Have To Look For Work While Collecting Unemployment Insurance Benefits?