How Are My Benefits Figured?
During your claim benefit year, you are entitled to a weekly benefit amount for weeks you are totally or partially unemployed providing that you meet all requirements and a balance remains on your claim. The amount you can receive is figured on wages paid during your base period. Your base period is the 12month period consisting of the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the beginning date of your claim.
To establish a claim, you must have wages of at least $1,000 in one quarter of your base period. You must have wages in two quarters of the base period and the total amount of your wages must be at least one and onehalf times your highest quarter wages. If you do not meet this requirement, you may still qualify if you have wages in at least two quarters of your base period and the total of the wages is at least $10,500 for a claim filed after 2001.
If you qualify, your weekly benefit amount will be 4% of your highest quarter wages. For claims filed in 2001 or later, this amount cannot be more than $250.00.
The most you can receive during your benefit year is your maximum benefit amount. The amount is 26 times your weekly benefit amount or onethird of your base period wages, whichever is less. When figuring the maximum benefit amount, the base period wages are limited to $6,500 per quarter.
Get Help from an Experienced Employment Law Attorney
Have you been discriminated against by a potential or current employer -- as a job applicant or current employee? To best protect your legal rights you should discuss your situation with an employment lawyer. Meet with a local employment for employees attorney sooner rather than later to protect your rights.
Additional Employment Law for Employees Articles
- Missouri Employment Law
- What Is The Minimum Age For Employment?
- Are There Restrictions On The Hours A Minor Can Work?
- Are Certain Occupations Prohibited For Minors?
- What If Missouri And Federal Child Labor Law Do Not Agree?
- Does My Employer Have To Provide Rest Or Meal Breaks?
- Are Benefits Such As Vacation, Sick Leave And Health Insurance Required?
- Can My Employer Fire Me Without Reason Or Notice?
- Can An Employer Require Their Employees To Work More Than Eight Hours A Day Or More Than 40 Hours Per Week?
- What is the minimum wage in Missouri?
- How Do I File An Initial Claim For Benefits?
- How Do I File My Weekly Claim?
- Can I Work Part Time And Receive Benefits?
- What Happens If I Receive An Overpayment?
- What Are Extended Benefits?
- Are Unemployment Benefits Taxable?
- How Do I Use The Modes-B-15 Card?
- As An Employer, How Do I Know If I Must Pay Unemployment Tax?
- What Will My Tax Rate Be?
- What Is The Taxable Wage Base?
- Where Can I Get More Information On Reporting Wages By Magnetic Media?
- What Can I Do If I Am Denied Unemployment Benefits?
- How Should I Prepare For The Hearing?
- What Will Happen After The Hearing?
- Will The Labor And Industrial Relations Commission Hold Another Hearing?
- What Is Prevailing Wage?
- What Is The On-Site Workplace Safety And Health Consultation Program?
- What Is The Mine Safety Program?
- I Am A Contractor. Do I Need Training?
- What Types Of Mining Operations Does The State Of Missouri Inspect?
- How Can I Schedule A Consultation To Help Me Compile A Proper Mine Safety And Health Program?