Who Is Liable For Unemployment Taxes In Mississippi?
The following employers are liable for unemployment taxes:
- Agricultural employers who pay wages of $20,000 in any calendar quarter in a calendar year or have 10 or more employees in any part of 20 separate weeks in a calendar year.
- Domestic employers who pay $1000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter in a calendar year.
- Non profit employers who have 4 or more employees in any part of 20 separate calendar weeks in a calendar year.
- Governmental employers with any employment.
- All other categories of employers who pay wages of $1500 or more in any calendar quarter in a calendar year or have 1 or more employees in any part of 20 separate calendar weeks in a calendar year.
Get Help from an Experienced Employment Law Attorney
Have you been discriminated against by a potential or current employer -- as a job applicant or current employee? To best protect your legal rights you should discuss your situation with an employment lawyer. Meet with a local employment for employees attorney sooner rather than later to protect your rights.
Additional Employment Law for Employees Articles
- How Does An Employer Register With The Mississippi Employment Security Commission To Pay Unemployment Taxes?
- Where Can I Get More Information On Unemployment Taxes?
- What Determines My Benefit Amount?
- How Do I File An Initial Claim For Unemployment Benefits?
- Are Unemployment Benefits Taxable?
- What Can I Do If I Am Denied Benefits?
- What Will Happen If I Receive An Overpayment?
- Are There Work Restrictions For Minors?