What Can I Do If I Am Denied Benefits?
You have the right to appeal a denial of benefits. Likewise, your employer may dispute your claim for benefits and appeal a determination made in your favor.
You will receive your "Notice of Disqualification" by mail. A request for a hearing must be made in writing within 10 days after the mailing date of the notice, which appears at the bottom of the disqualification notice. A late request for a hearing may be allowed if it is filed within a 30day period after the disqualification notice, and if you can establish that there was "good cause" for the delayed request.
You will be mailed a "Notice of Hearing," which includes important information regarding your appeal. The date, time and place of your hearing are on the notice, along with a description of the issues involved. In most cases a hearing will be the only opportunity you have to personally present evidence in support of your claim for UI benefits. The review examiner will base the decision solely on testimony and evidence presented at the hearing. For information on your hearing, call the Hearings Department automated information line at 6176266561.
If you are disqualified at the hearings level, you have the right to appeal to the independent Board of Review. Information on Board appeals will be included with your hearings decision. If you disagree with the Board's decision, you have the right to appeal to your local district court.
Get Help from an Experienced Employment Law Attorney
Have you been discriminated against by a potential or current employer -- as a job applicant or current employee? To best protect your legal rights you should discuss your situation with an employment lawyer. Meet with a local employment for employees attorney sooner rather than later to protect your rights.
Additional Employment Law for Employees Articles
- Massachusetts Employment Law
- What Is The Law Regarding Paydays?
- Are Companies Required To Give Vacations?
- Are Employees Entitled To Breaks?
- What Is The Minimum Hourly Wage An Employer Must Pay Employees In Massachusetts?
- What Is The Requirement For Overtime Pay?
- How Old Must A Minor Be To Work?
- Can A Child Be Employed On The Entertainment Industry?
- Is An Employment Permit Transferable From One Job To Another?
- Where Can I Get More Information On Child Labor Laws?
- What Is The Prevailing Wage?
- How Can An Employee Find The Prevailing Wage Rates For A Particular Job?
- How Do I File A Claim For Unemployment Insurance Benefits?
- What Are The Eligibility Requirements?
- What Is The Benefit Amount?
- How Do I File For Continued Weekly Benefits?
- Are Unemployment Benefits Taxable?
- Am I Still Eligible For Benefits If I Work Part Time?
- What Is The Medical Security Plan?
- Which Employers Are Liable For Unemployment Tax?
- How Do I Register My Business?
- What Is The Contribution Rate?
- How Does An Employer Get Started To Use Webfile For Employers?
- What Is The Workforce Training Fund?
- Who Is Eligible For Training?
- What Kind Of Training Is Allowable?
- What Are The Matching Funds Requirements?
- How Will Grants Be Approved?
- How Can My Company Apply?