How Much Compensation Will I Receive?
After filing your claim, you will receive a Wage Transcript and Monetary Determination. This form shows: all employers that our records show you worked for in Georgia during your base period; the wages you were paid during each quarter; your weekly benefit amount; the duration of your claim (the number of weeks payable); and if you are not eligible monetarily, the reason(s) why.
Your weekly benefit amount (up to the current weekly maximum amount) is computed by dividing the two highest quarter wages paid to you in your base period by 48. The minimum benefit is $40 and maximum is $295 per week.
The maximum number of weeks for any claim is 26. The minimum number of weeks is eight. The actual number of weeks established for your claim depends on your earnings in your base period.
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Employment Law for Employees Articles
- How Do I Qualify For Unemployment Benefits?
- How Do I Qualify Under Monetary Requirements?
- How Do I File My Initial Claim For Benefits?
- What Happens After I File My Initial Claim?
- How Do I Claim Benefits Each Week?
- Can I File A Claim If I Earned Wages In Another State?
- Can I Work While I Am Drawing Benefits?
- Is A Claimant Eligible For Benefits If He Or She Quit Or Was Terminated?
- Are Unemployment Insurance Benefits Taxable?
- Do I Have To Repay Any Overpayment Of Benefits?
- Am I Eligible If I Received A Retirement Pension Or Severance Pay?
- What If I Disagree With A Denial Of Unemployment Benefits?
- What Can I Do If I Disagree With The Decision Of The Hearing Officer?
- Can I Appeal The Board Of Review's Decision?
- How Do I Determine Whether Or Not I Must Pay Unemployment Taxes?
- How Do I Set Up An Unemployment Insurance Tax Account In Georgia?
- How Is My Tax Rate Calculated?
- Is A Work Permit Required For Employment Of A Minor?
- Are There Restrictions On The Hours A Minor May Be Employed?
- Where Can I Get More Information On Child Labor?
- Are Minors Prohibited From Working In Any Specific Occupations?
- Are There Special Requirements For Employment In The Entertainment Industry?
- What is the minimum wage in Georgia?
- Am I Entitled To Meal And Rest Breaks?
- What Is The Law For Child Support And Employers?
- Why Do We Need This Law?
- Who Needs To Report?
- Whom Must Employers Report?
- Is Anyone Exempt From This Law?
- When Must An Employer Report?
- What Information Must An Employer Report?
- How Does An Employer Report?
- Where Does The Employer Send The Reports?
- I Report Employee Information To The Georgia Department Of Labor Every Quarter. Why Must I Report It When I Hire?
- Does An Employer Have To Report If They Do Not Hire Anyone?
- Do Temporary Services Have To Report All Their New Hires For Every Assignment?
- What If An Employee Worked A Couple Days And Then Quit?
- Is A Post Office Box Sufficient For An Employer Address?
- Do An Employer Have To Include My Fein On Line 10 Of The W4? The Instructions Say To Only Include It If I Sent It To The Irs.
- What An Employer Has Other Questions Regarding Child Support?
- How Is The Information Going To Be Used?
- Who Will Have This Information?
- What Are The Advantages For Employers?
- If I Take Over A Business, Do I Have To Report All The Employees?
- Are Labor Unions And Hiring Halls Required To Report?
- As A Multistate Employer; Do I Have To Report To Each State In Which I Have Employees?
- How Will States In Which I Have Employees Working Know That I Have Selected Another State To Receive My New Hire Reports?