What is the minimum wage in Connecticut?

The minimum wage for adults working in the State of Connecticut is currently $8.00 per hour (as of January 1, 2002). Minors may be paid 85% of the minimum wage for the first 200 hours of employment. The minimum wage for waiters and waitresses will be $6.70 per hour less 29.3% of the minimum wage ($1.96 for tips) or $4.74 per hour. All state and federal taxes are required to be paid on $6.70, and then take the tip deduction.Please note that Connecticut's minimum wage will increase to $6.90 per hour as of January 1, 2003.

Get Help from an Experienced Employment Law Attorney

Have you been discriminated against by a potential or current employer -- as a job applicant or current employee? To best protect your legal rights you should discuss your situation with an employment lawyer. Meet with a local employment for employees attorney sooner rather than later to protect your rights.

Additional Employment Law for Employees Articles

Search LawInfo's Employment Law for Employees Resources

Lead Counsel Rated Law Firm

Click Here to Learn More