Drunk Driving Defense Laws in Wyoming
Though drunk driving is always illegal, the fines, jail time and other ramifications that you could face if you are convicted are going to vary from one state to the next. Therefore, you must know exactly what these look like in Wyoming if you are ever arrested on DUI charges. You also need to know your legal rights and options, as there may be legal steps you can take to defend yourself in court. A strong defense case can be built, especially if you and your legal team start working on it right away.
BAC in Wyoming
Since your BAC is so important, you should know what constitutes a drunk driving arrest in Wyoming. If you are 21 or older, your BAC must be at 0.08 or higher to be arrested. If you are underage, though, you can be arrested with a BAC that is at or over just 0.02. If you are a commercial driver, regardless of your being over 21, you can only have a BAC that is under 0.04.
Breath Test Refusal
As noted, you need to know your rights when it comes to a DUI arrest, and one of those rights is the right to refuse a breath test. If you do this once, you automatically lose your license for a term of six months. A second or third offense will cause you to lose it for 18 months. However, this is an option if you don't want to take the test.
Multiple DUIs in Wyoming
In some states, the ramifications for a DUI charge are laid out in a general tiered system that considers three convictions, with penalties that are more harsh for each consecutive conviction. Wyoming does this as well, but then takes things a step further, also offering ramifications for a fourth conviction.
To start with, if you are arrested and convicted for the first time, you may not face jail time at all, but you could face a max of six months behind bars. The maximum fine is $750, and you could also have your license taken away for 90 days. If your BAC is below 0.15, you are not going to need to use an ignition interlock device, but you will if it is at or above that level.
A second conviction is going to get you at least seven days in jail, with the max again set at six months. The fines now start at $250, but they go up to the same max of $750. Your license may be taken away for the whole year, though, and you will need to use the ignition interlock device.
Your third conviction would get you a minimum of one month in jail; the max, yet again, is six months. There could be a big jump in fines, though, with a minimum of $750 and a max of $3,000. You have to use the ignition interlock system, and your license will be suspended for a full three years.
Now, for that crucial fourth conviction, Wyoming stipulates that you could serve up to two years behind bars. You could also get as much as $10,000 in fines, and a license suspension that varies at the discretion of the judge. When you get the license back, you have to use the ignition interlock device for the rest of your life.
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Drunk Driving Articles
- What constitutes operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol (DUI) in Wyoming?
- Do the standards for DUI differ for minors under Wyoming law?
- What are the penalties for a DUI incident that resulted in serious bodily injury in Wyoming?
- Will I have to attend counseling or rehabilitation if I am convicted of DUI in Wyoming?
- How long will I lose my driver's license for a first DUI conviction in Wyoming?
- How long will I lose my driver's license for a second DUI conviction in Wyoming?
- How long will I lose my driver's license for a third DUI conviction in Wyoming?
- Can I drive with an ignition interlock device installed in my vehicle during the period of my license suspension under Wyoming law?
- What can happen under Wyoming law if I refuse to take a chemical or field sobriety test when I am suspected of DUI?
- Can my vehicle be confiscated if I am convicted of DUI in Wyoming?
- Can I get a probationary license if my license has been suspended for DUI in Wyoming?
- What terms are used for drunk driving offenses in Wyoming?
- Where can I find a Wyoming DUI lawyer?
- What are the penalties for a DUI conviction in Wyoming?
- What are the penalties for refusing a Chemical Test under Wyoming DUI Law?