Drunk Driving Defense Laws in Massachusetts
Massachusetts residents who have been pulled over and arrested on drunk driving charges could face a wide variety of punishments if they are convicted. Depending on the nature of your arrest, and how many times you have been convicted of drunk driving in the past, those punishments could range from light to severe. For this reason, many individuals accused of drunk driving choose to assert various criminal defenses in court to try and reduce and/or eliminate the threat of punishment in their cases.
There are a number of common defenses that you might choose to employ against a Massachusetts drunk driving charge. In some cases, you may be able to show that the arresting officer did not pull you over with justifiable cause. If the police officer cannot show a valid reason for pulling you over, it could serve to invalidate the DUI charges that were later brought against you. In other cases, a criminal defense attorney might try to show that the field sobriety, breathalyzer, urine or blood test that was administered to you was inaccurate or was administered in a manner that did not conform with the law. This could serve to get test evidence deemed as inadmissible, and that would severely hinder the prosecution's ability to convict you.
There is another type of DUI defense that has to do with rising blood alcohol concentration. The basic premise of this DUI defense has to do with the fact that an individual could drink alcohol, immediately get behind the wheel of an automobile and safely drive before all the alcohol hits his or her system. In other words, it may be possible for an officer to pull an individual over while he or she is sober enough to drive, but when the filed sobriety and breathalyzer tests are administered, the principle of rising blood-alcohol concentration might result in the previously sober driver testing as too drunk to drive.
DUI Laws in Massachusetts
Drivers are considered to be too drunk to legally drive in Massachusetts if their blood alcohol levels test at 0.8 percent or more. Drivers under the agent 21 are subjected to even stricter limitations and they are considered too drunk to drive if their blood alcohol content is only 0.2 percent. Like other states, in Massachusetts, if the driver's blood-alcohol concentration hits 0.20 percent, he or she will be vulnerable to stiffer penalties and punishments in the event of conviction.
Penalties for Massachusetts DUI Convictions
After a first-time drunk driving conviction, the minimum period for a license suspension in Massachusetts is one year, but this time period can often be reduced after completing an alcohol education course. After a second DUI conviction, the minimum license suspension is for two years. After a third conviction, the minimum is eight years. Those convicted of DUI will also have to complete an alcohol education, assessment and treatment program. Repeat offenders will be required to install an ignition interlock device, requiring the driver to blow into a breath test device before one can start an automobile.
A Massachusetts DUI defense attorney may be able to help you avoid some of the above listed punishments by asserting various DUI defenses on your behalf in court. If you have been accused of drunk driving, you may wish to consult with a private attorney to evaluate the seriousness of your legal situation and the best pathways to take in the litigation of your case.
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Drunk Driving Defense Articles
- Can I get my license back in Massachusetts before my OUI case is resolved?
- What are the penalties for an OUI in Massachusetts?
- What terms are used for drunk driving offenses in Massachusetts?
- When will I be charged with a OUI in Massachusetts?
- What is the legal drinking limit for drivers in Massachusetts?
- Where can I find a Massachusetts OUI Lawyer?
- What happens if I am under age 21 and charged with OUI in Massachusetts?
- Can I refuse a Chemical Test under Massachusetts Drunk Driving Law?
- Can I challenge a Refusal Suspension in Massachusetts?
- How long will I lose my Driver’s License if I refuse a Chemical Test in Massachusetts?