What is a 'Repeat Offender' under Kentucky DUI law?
"Repeat offender" status for DUI cases is determined in Kentucky based upon a five year "lookback" period. This status is used for purposes of increased mandatory minimum punishment. This "lookback" period has nothing to do with how long a DUI remains on your record. Whenever the 5 year "lookback" period is discussed, the method of counting is from THE DATE OF ARREST for the previous DUI offense (not the disposition or plea date) to the DATE OF ARREST in the current case, and to determine if more than five years have expired. The counting of "first", "second", offense etc., relates to the number of offenses within the 5 year "lookback" period. This determines the minimum mandatory punishment.
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Drunk Driving Articles
- Drunk Driving Defense Laws in Kentucky
- What does 'Under The Influence Of Alcohol' mean under Kentucky DUI law?
- What is the legal drinking limit for driver’s in Kentucky?
- What are the DUI penalties for a driver under 21 in Kentucky?
- What Is the penalty for driving on a DUI suspended license in Kentucky?
- Do I have to surrender my license plates or have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in my vehicle after a DUI in Kentucky?
- Do I have to submit to a Chemical Sobriety Test under Kentucky DUI law?
- What is a Pre-Trial License Suspension under Kentucky DUI law?
- May I contact an Attorney prior to making a decision about testing?
- What is the term used for a drunk driving offense in Kentucky?
- Where can I find a Kentucky DUI Lawyer?
- Can my DUI be reduced to a lesser charge in Kentucky?
- When can I be charged with DUI in Kentucky?
- Kentucky DUI Laws: FAQ
- How long will I lose my license if I refuse to consent to a Chemical DUI Test in Kentucky?
- Must I submit to field sobriety tests under Kentucky DUI law?