What are the penalties for a DUI in Kansas?

The penalties for a 1st DUI offense include:

  • 48 hours of mandatory imprisonment or 100 hours of community service,
  • Mandatory court ordered alcohol and drug safety action education program and/or treatment program (at your expense),
  • Fines: $500 to $1,000 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees,
  • Your driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days, then restricted for an additional 330 days
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device, and
  • Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year.

The penalties for a 2nd DUI offense include:

  • 90 days to one year imprisonment,
  • Fines: $1,000 to $1,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees,
  • Mandatory court ordered treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse (at your expense),
  • Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year, and
  • Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. After a one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, you are restricted to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for one year. This mechanism makes it impossible for anyone who is intoxicated to start the motor vehicle. Proof of such device’s installation and use shall be provided to the Division of Motor Vehicles before driving privileges are fully reinstated.

The penalties for a 3rd  DUI offense include:

  • A felony charge,
  • 90 days to one year imprisonment,
  • Fines: $1,500 to $2,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees,
  • You must complete the court ordered treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse (at your expense),
  • Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year, and
  • Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. After a one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, you are restricted to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for one year. Proof of such device’s installation and use shall be provided to the Division of Motor Vehicles before driving privileges are fully reinstated.

The penalties for a 4th DUI offense include:

  • A felony charge,
  • 90 days to one year imprisonment,
  • Fines: $2,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees,
  • At the end of the incarceration/work release program, you will be placed in the custody of the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Corrections for a one-year period of post-release supervision which shall be required to include completion of a drug/alcohol treatment program (at your expense),
  • Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year,
  • Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. Any court may revoke a person’s license plate or temporary registration for a period of one year. After a one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, you are restricted to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for one year. Proof of such device’s installation and use shall be provided to the Division of Motor Vehicles before driving privileges are fully reinstated.

The penalties for a 5th or subsequent DUI offense include:

  • A felony charge,
  • 90 days to one year imprisonment and be fined $2,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees,
  • Your driving privileges will be permanently revoked, and
  • At the end of the incarceration/work release program, you will be placed in the custody of the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Corrections for a one-year period of post-release supervision which shall be required to include completion of a drug/alcohol treatment program (at your expense).

The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.

Additional Drunk Driving Articles

Search LawInfo's Drunk Driving Resources

Lead Counsel Rated Law Firm

Click Here to Learn More