Free Online Legal Resources
Penalties for your 1st DUI conviction include:
Penalties for a 2nd DUI conviction, within a 10 year period, includes:
Penalties for a 3rd DUI conviction, within a 10 year period, includes:
Additionally, penalties are increased for drivers with BAC levels GREATER than 0.20. Penalties for a first conviction include:
Penalties for a 2nd conviction within 5 years include:
Penalties for a 1st conviction include the following:
Penalties for a 2nd conviction, within 5 years, include the following:
Penalties for a 3rd conviction, within 5 years, include the following:
Under Idaho’s implied consent law, when you drive your vehicle on an Idaho road you are deemed to have consented to a BAC test when pulled over by a law enforcement official on suspicion of DUI. Therefore, if you refuse the test your driver’s license will be taken away and your driving privileges will be suspended for 1 year along with a $250 civil penalty. If the officer suspects you are using drugs, he can request an additional test to determine drug use.
How are DUI and DWP related in Idaho?
A DUI will result in a driver's license suspension. If one is caught driving while suspended a new misdemeanor charge of DWP will be filed. This new charge may impact the previous DUI by causing a probation violation or making it more difficult to get the State to agree to a plea bargain in the first case.
DUI charges present some additional problems such as the potential requirement to carry high risk or SR22 insurance. In some cases it may be possible to avoid this by obtaining a withheld judgment.
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified drunk driving lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local drunk driving attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.