Must I consent to a blood or urine test when pulled over for DUI in Florida?
Yes under Florida’s implied consent law driver’s are required to consent to a chemical blood or urine test when stopped for suspected DUI. Refusal to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test is admissible as evidence in DUI criminal proceedings. Additionally, if You refuse to take the a chemical test your driver’s will be suspended.
Driver License Suspension Periods:
- First refusal: suspended for 1 year.
- Second or subsequent refusals: suspended for 18 months.
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Drunk Driving Articles
- Drunk Driving Defense Laws in Florida
- Florida DUI Penalties
- What terms are used for drunk driving offenses in Florida?
- Is drinking and driving a crime in Florida?
- What is the legal drinking limit in for drivers in Florida?
- When can I be charged with DUI in Florida?
- When will I be convicted of Felony DUI in Florida?
- When may I obtain a hardship driver’s license reinstatement after being convicted of DUI in Florida?
- When can I be released after a DUI arrest in Florida?
- Where can I find Florida DUI Attorney?