Connecticut DUI Laws: FAQ

What are the penalties for a DUI conviction in Connecticut?

The possible penalties for a 1st DUI conviction in Connecticut include:

  • Fines of $100-$500,
  • 1 Year Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device,
  • Jail Time of 48 hours to 6 months or suspended with 100 hours of community service, and
  • 45 Day Driver’s license suspension.

The possible penalties for a 2nd DUI conviction in Connecticut include:

  • Fines of $2,000-$8,000,
  • Jail Time of 120 days to 2 years,
  • 100 hours of community service,
  • 45 Day Driver’s license suspension, and
  • 3 Year Mandatory Ignition Interlock device.

The possible penalties for a 3rd DUI conviction, within 10 years of last conviction, in Connecticut include:

  • Fines of $100-$500,
  • Jail Time of 1-3 years,
  • 100 hours of community service, and
  • Driver’s license suspension
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock device.

Additionally, after a DUI conviction you will have to pay court fees and costs, face a period of probation, and possible counseling.

Can my license be suspended immediately after a DUI arrest in Connecticut?

No. Before a DMV suspension is effective you are entitled to a hearing which is conducted before the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. The hearing is administrative in nature, and it may occur at a branch office of the DMV or at a municipal building utilized by the DMV. Although every person who fails or refuses a chemical alcohol test is entitled to a hearing, the hearing is not scheduled automatically and instead must be specifically requested. Failure to request a hearing in a timely manner will result in a waiver of the hearing and a suspension of the operators permit.

How long will my driver’s license be suspended if I refuse to submit to a blood, urine, or breath test in Connecticut?

It depends on your age and the number of times you have been convicted of refusing to take a sobriety test (The following are current as of July, 2011):

Drivers Age 21 and over:

  • 1st Conviction: 6 months
  • 2nd Conviction: 1 year
  • 3rd Conviction: 3 years

Drivers Age 18-20

  • 1st Conviction: 1 year
  • 2nd Conviction: 2 years
  • 3rd Conviction: 6 years

Drivers Age 16-17

  • 1st Conviction:18 months
  • 2nd Conviction: 3 years
  • 3rd Conviction: 6 years

How long will I lose my driver’s license after a DUI in Connecticut?

The answer to this question DEPENDS ON YOUR AGE & BAC. The following are administrative penalties imposed by the DMV:

Drivers Age 16-17 with BAC of at least 0.2 but less than .16:

  • 1st Offense: 1 year
  • 2nd Offense: 2 years
  • 3rd Offense: 4 years

Drivers Age 16-17 with BAC of 0.16 or greater

  • 1st Offense: 1 year
  • 2nd Offense: 30 months
  • 3rd Offense: 5 years

Drivers Age 18-20 and BAC of at least 0.2 but less than .16:

  • 1st Offense: 6 months
  • 2nd Offense: 18 months
  • 3rd Offense: 4 years

Drivers Age 18-20 with BAC of 0.16 or greater

  • 1st Offense: 240 days
  • 2nd Offense: 20 months
  • 3rd Offense: 5 years

Drivers Age 21 and Older with BAC of at least 0.8 but less than .16:

  • 1st Offense: 90 days
  • 2nd Offense: 9 months
  • 3rd Offense: 2 years

Drivers Age 21 and Older with BAC of .16 or greater

  • 1st Offense: 120 days
  • 2nd Offense: 10 months
  • 3rd Offense: 2 ½ years

However if a driver is CRIMINALLY CONVICTED of DUI the following mandatory license suspensions apply in addition to the administrative penalties imposed by the DMV (These suspensions apply to drivers of any age):

  • 1st Conviction: 45 Days (Mandatory 1 Year Ignition Interlock Device)
  • 2nd Conviction: 45 Days (Mandatory 3 Year Ignition Interlock Device)
  • 3rd Conviction (within 10 years of the last): Permanent revocation, with opportunity for reinstatement 6 years after suspension.

Am I eligible for an Alcohol Education Program after a DUI conviction in Connecticut?

If this your first DUI before you may be eligible to use the Alcohol Education Program (AEP). To apply for this program you will be required to state under oath that you have never been convicted of driving under the influence in Connecticut or any other state AND you have never used the alcohol education program before. If you are granted admission to this program your case will normally be continued for one year. During this period of time you would be required to attend educational classes and possibly additional substance abuse counseling. The cost and duration of the program is based on the level of alcohol in your system at the time of the arrest. If you successfully complete the program the charge will be dismissed.

The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.

Additional Drunk Driving Articles

Search LawInfo's Drunk Driving Resources

Lead Counsel Rated Law Firm

Click Here to Learn More