Drunk Driving Defense Laws in Alabama
While no one wants to endanger another's life intentionally by driving under the influence, DUI defendants in Alabama do have some legal options available to them. A good initial strategy is to become familiar with the specific DUI laws in Alabama, either before taking the wheel while drinking or immediately following an arrest for drunk driving. This way, defendants will always know what they must face in creating a successful defense.
DUI Penalties in Alabama
As in all American states, DUI is a serious offense in Alabama, resulting in some of the harshest penalties dispensed by the nation's justice system. Learning about these laws can often stop a DUI before it occurs and at the very least lets all involved parties know exactly where they stand. Here are the current DUI penalties associated with a drunk driving conviction in the state of Alabama:
A first conviction means a mandatory driver's license suspension for 90 days as well as attending DUI school. Defendants who are convicted may also incur a fine of between $500 and $2,000. Alabama has no mandatory jail sentence for a first conviction, but under some circumstances, defendants could receive a sentence of up to a year in jail.
As one might expect, a second DUI conviction has more severe penalties including a jail term of not less than 48 hours but no more than one year. Alternatively, some second offense defendants might receive a community service sentence instead of a lengthy jail term. A second conviction also means a fine of between $1,000 and $5,000 as well as a one year driver's license revocation.
For a third conviction within a five year period, defendants can expect even more severe penalties. These include a mandatory 60 day jail term without chance of sentence suspension or probation. This jail sentence could be extended for up to one year. Those convicted must also pay a fine of between $2,000 and $10,000 and have their driver's licenses revoked for three years.
For four or more additional arrests within five years, defendants may be charged with a Class C felony. If convicted, the penalties include revocation of driver's license for five years, fines of up to $10,000 and imprisonment for one to five years.
DUI Attorneys Protect Your Rights
Fortunately, those arrested for drunk driving in Alabama have a real chance of escaping the harshest penalties by avoiding a conviction for DUI altogether. In almost every instance, it is impossible to beat a conviction without professional assistance from an attorney who knows how to handle DUI cases. He or she can investigate the circumstances behind the blood alcohol testing and subsequent arrest to ensure no one's rights were violated. Even when avoiding conviction is impossible, a skilled attorney practicing in the state of Alabama can make a solid argument for the defendant, in many cases resulting in reduced DUI penalties whenever possible.
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Drunk Driving Articles
- Alabama DUI Laws: FAQ
- Do the standards and penalties for DUI differ for minors under Alabama law?
- What are the penalties for a first DUI conviction in Alabama?
- What are the penalties for a second DUI conviction in Alabama?
- What are the penalties for a third DUI conviction in Alabama?
- What are the penalties for a DUI conviction if you already have three or more DUI convictions in Alabama?
- Will I have to attend counseling or rehabilitation if I am convicted of DUI in Alabama?
- How quickly will I lose my driver's license if I am arrested for DUI in Alabama?
- How long will I lose my driver's license for a first DUI conviction in Alabama?
- How long will I lose my driver's license for a second DUI conviction in Alabama?
- How long will I lose my driver's license for a third DUI conviction in Alabama?
- How long will I lose my driver's license if I am convicted of DUI, and I already have at least three DUI convictions in Alabama?
- What can happen under Alabama law if I refuse to take a chemical or field sobriety test when I am suspected of DUI?
- Can law enforcement take my vehicle if I am arrested for or convicted of DUI in Alabama?
- What terms are used for drunk driving offenses in Alabama?
- Is drinking and driving a crime in Alabama?
- Where can I find an Alabama DUI Lawyer?