What are the Residency and Filing Requirements for Divorce in Oklahoma?
An Oklahoma divorce may be granted if either party was an Oklahoma resident in good faith for at least 6 months prior to filing for divorce. (Oklahoma Statutes, Title 43, Marriage and Family Section 102) The divorce complaint may be filed in any county where the petitioner has been a resident for at least 30 days or where the respondent is a resident. (Oklahoma Statutes, Title 43 Marriage and Family, Section 103)
Speak to an Experienced Divorce Attorney Today
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified divorce lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local divorce attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.
Additional Divorce Articles
- Oklahoma Divorce Laws - What You Need to Know!
- What Documents and Supporting Information are Required to be Submitted with a Divorce Petition in Oklahoma?
- What are Grounds for Divorce in Oklahoma?
- What Are the Laws in Oklahoma About How Marital Property Will be Distributed After Divorce?