What Documents and Supporting Information are Required to be Submitted with a Divorce Petition in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, the divorce complaint must be verified and set forth: (1) that one of the spouses has been a resident of North Carolina for at least 6 months; (2) the grounds for divorce; (3) that the plaintiff has known about the grounds for divorce for at least 6 months prior to filing for divorce unless the grounds for divorce is a separation of one year or more; (4) the name and age of all minor children or a statement that there are no minor children; and (5) if there are minor children then the complaint must include the social security number of the petitioner and the defendant (if known). (North Carolina General Statutes, Chapter 50 Divorce and Alimony, Section 8)
Speak to an Experienced Divorce Attorney Today
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified divorce lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local divorce attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.
Additional Divorce Articles
- North Carolina Divorce Law
- North Carolina Divorce Laws – What You Need to Know!
- What are Grounds for Divorce in North Carolina?
- What are the Residency and Filing Requirements for Divorce in North Carolina?
- When is Spousal Support or Alimony Awarded in North Carolina?
- What are the Laws in North Carolina about How Marital Property Will be Distributed After Divorce?