What are the Residency and Filing Requirements for Divorce in Missouri?
In Missouri, divorce proceedings are heard in the state’s circuit courts. (Missouri Revised Statutes Chapter 452 Section 240) A divorce proceeding may be filed in the county in which either party resides. However, it can be moved to the county where the respondent resides in certain circumstances. (Missouri Revised Statutes Chapter 452 Section 300) One of the parties must be a Missouri resident for 90 days immediately preceding the commencement of the action and 30 days must elapse after filing the petition. (Missouri Revised Statutes Chapter 452 Section 305)
The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.
Additional Divorce Articles
- Missouri Divorce Laws – What You Need to Know!
- What Documents and Supporting Information are Required to be Submitted with a Divorce Petition in Missouri?
- What are the Laws in Missouri about How Marital Property Will Be Distributed After Divorce?
- What are Grounds for Divorce in Missouri?