What are the Residency and Filing Requirements for Divorce in Michigan?
In Michigan, a petition for divorce should be filed in Circuit Court. (Michigan Revised Statutes, Section 552.6) Either the plaintiff or the defendant must have resided in Michigan for at least 180 days prior to the commencement of a divorce action. Additionally, the plaintiff or defendant must have resided in the county where the complaint is filed for at least 10 days prior to brining a divorce action. The 10 day requirement may be waived if the defendant was born in or is a citizen of a foreign country, there are minor children of the marriage, and the court reasonably concludes that the children are at risk of being taken to that country. (Michigan Revised Statutes, Section 552.9)
Speak to an Experienced Divorce Attorney Today
This article is intended to be helpful and informative. But even common legal matters can become complex and stressful. A qualified divorce lawyer can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court. Take the first step now and contact a local divorce attorney to discuss your specific legal situation.
Additional Divorce Articles
- Michigan Divorce Law
- Michigan Divorce Laws – What You Need to Know!
- What are Grounds for Divorce in Michigan?
- What Documents and Supporting Information are Required to be Submitted with a Divorce Petition in Michigan?
- What are the Laws in Michigan about How Marital Property Will Be Distributed After Divorce?