Is There Protection For Used Car Buyers?

If you are looking at buying a used car, keep in mind that Ohio`s Lemon Law does not apply to motor vehicles more than one year old or driven more than 18,000 miles.

Also keep in mind that lemons returned to the manufacturer or dealer can be resold to consumers only under certain conditions. A used car dealer must give you the following statement to read and sign before selling you a returned lemon.

IMPORTANT: This vehicle was returned to the manufacturer because it did not conform to the manufacturer`s express warranty and the nonconformity was not cured within a reasonable amount of time as provided by Ohio law.

The automaker must give you at least a 12 month, 12,000 mile warranty that offers the same coverage as the original new car warranty.

The notice and warranty are required even if the car was returned as a lemon under the law of another state. The notice and warranty serve as your warning that you are buying a vehicle returned as a lemon.

In addition, manufacturers must obtain certificate of titles for returned lemons that include the following disclosure:

BUYBACK: THIS VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE MANUFACTURER BECAUSE IT MAY NOT HAVE CONFORMED TO ITS WARRANTY.

The information on this page is meant to provide a general overview of the law. The laws in your state and/or city may deviate significantly from those described here. If you have specific questions related to your situation you should speak with a local attorney.

Additional Lemon Law Articles

Search LawInfo's Lemon Law Resources